Badass Dessert – Pudology

I spotted Pudology in may local supermarket and because I’m vegan I feel it’s my responsibility to try all the different vegan desserts that come my way. So I can spread the word. *wink*

I bought the Pudology Decadent Chocolate Puds and I shared it with my husband (who is not vegan) and we were both seriously impressed. Pudology aren’t just vegan friendly, all their Puds are also gluten free. You can view their range here.

Creator and dessert maker Lucy was diagnosed with a dairy and egg intolerance in 2010 and realised there were very few tasty treats for people like her, so she took to the kitchen and started creating.

I was so impressed with Pudology that I contacted them and Lucy very kindly sent me some samples to review and we’re collaborating on a Badass Giveaway, so stayed tuned for that!
Using coconut milk and dark chocolate their creamy puds are bursting with a deep chocolate flavour that’s hard to beat. I also love that a woman decided to create what she couldn’t find and has not only created some delicious desserts but also a business that she’s clearly passionate about.

THE REVIEW

Orange Chocolate Pudding

‘Seriously smooth chocolate and orange ganache with Brazilian orange oil.’

Oh my! This tasted just like a certain well known orange chocolate ball that, despite what their ads claimed, you could not just ‘tap and unwrap’. Delicious thick chocolate that has a ganache style texture and infused with a zesty but not overpowering Brazillian orange oil . This one is a real stunner!

Scrumptious Millionaire’s Shortbread

‘Truly decadent layers of biscuit, caramel and smooth, rich chocolate.’

I’m not the biggest fan of Millionaire’s Shortbread, mostly due to the fact i don’t like shortbread. I may be Scottish but I draw the line at sugary sand! Pudology have used a biscuit base inplace of shortbread and the ratio of base to caramel and chocolate is spot on. The silky smooth chocolate and gorgeous gooey toffee made for an excellent after dinner treat. The shortbread/biscuit element was given the thumbs up by my husband, who knows about these sorts of things. All I can really say about the biscuit base is that it was crumbly.

Deeply Decadent Chocolate Pudding

‘deeply decadent & irresistably smooth chocolate ganache with Madagascan vanilla.’

I can’t quite decide if this or the Chocolate Orange Pud is my favourite, they’re both delicious. The thick, rich and truly decadent chocolate pudding, my mouth is watering just writing about it, is genuinely a vegan delight!
Honestly, no one would ever guess that these desserts are dairy free. They feel totally indulgent and of a gourmet standard.

Richly Indulgent Banoffee Pie Puds

‘Layers of biscuit, dairy-free toffee, banana & chocolate – the ultimate indulgence!’

This one was my least favourite of the samples I was sent. I don’t mind banoffee pie but it’s not a dessert I would choose to eat. My husband on the other hand, loved it and ended up eating mine as I couldn’t finish it. I can’t quite put my finger on what didn’t work for me but on reflection I think it was the banana element. Perhaps it was just too sweet for me.

Pudology has all the ingredients, allergen and nutritional information listed on their website but again, all their desserts are:

  • Dairy Free
  • Gluten Free
  • Wheat Free
  • Vegan Friendly
  • Coeliac Friendly

The Puds are now available at a range of shops including Sainsbury’s and I thoroughly recommend you seek them out.

pudology vine

I look forward to seeing what Pudology brings out in the future and I sincerely hope it involves mint or peanut butter.

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I’m working with Pudology to bring you a Badass Giveaway! Pudology creator Lucy Wager, who blogs here is getting some great Pudology swag for you to get your hands on, so keep your eyes peeled in September!

kiss-mark_medium

Moxie McMurder
The Badass Manifesto

Leave a Reply

